The Girl Who Tried Everything

and then blogged about it…

DIY Drawer Liner (contact paper)

DIY.Drawer.Liner-1
I went out looking for cool contact paper that had the same look and feel as my new dresser, but what I found was a bunch of shitty mostly kitchen theme prints. I wasn’t going to ruin the look of my new dresser after spending the last two week restoring it, so I decided to make my own.

I had old books in my garage (no books were harmed in the making of this DIY project) they were already water damaged and ruined. I decided they would make the perfect drawer liners.

Supplies Needed

DIY.Drawer.Liner-3

  • Mod Podge (or some homemade version)
  • Any kind of paper to line
  • Paper Plate
  • Form Brush
  • Plastic scraper

How To:

DIY.Drawer.Liner-2
This is so simple directions are almost not even needed, but I know I like to read what other people have to say before starting any project just incase. “You don’t know what you don’t know”.

Start by prepping the drawer, making sure it’s dust free and dry.

Have all supplies ready. Pour some of the Mod Podge onto a paper plate; I use a paper plate for easy clean up, but anything would work.

Dip foam brush into glue. Until this has been done a couple of times the brush will soak up more than it lets off.

Now it’s time to cover surface. Some of the blogs I’ve read said to just cover the whole surface at once, but I’ve found that doesn’t work as well when using small pieces of paper the paste dries too fast. I spread on a small section, then lay the paper over the paste.

After the paper needs to be smoothed out, I started by using my hand but it didn’t work as well as I’d have liked. I’ve found a plastic scraper to be the perfect tool. I quickly scrape across paper and it lays down nicely, with minimal wrinkles and bubbles.

After the paper is in position, I cover in with paste and repeat the process making sure to overlap the pieces slightly.

If this were one large paper I’d cut it first, but because I’m using small pieces I cut the paper as I go. On thin paper I simple use the edge of the scraper, but on heavier paper I use a razor blade.

Then I let it dry overnight and it’s done!!!

DIY Drawer Liner Mod Podge Old Book

One comment on “DIY Drawer Liner (contact paper)

  1. bedside table with shelves
    July 4, 2014

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have truly
    enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2013 by in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , .
