The Girl Who Tried Everything

and then blogged about it…

From Ashes (From Ashes #1) – Molly McAdams

16122163

Book Description (from Goodreads)

Aside from her dad, who passed away when she was six, Cassidy Jameson has only ever trusted one man: her best friend, Tyler. So of course she follows him to Texas when he leaves for college. She just didn’t expect to be so drawn to their new roommate, Gage, a gorgeous guy with a husky Southern drawl. The only problem? He’s Tyler’s cousin.

Gage Carson was excited to share an apartment off campus with his cousin. He didn’t mind that Tyler was bringing the mysterious friend he’d heard about since they were kids … until the most beautiful girl he’s ever seen jumps out of his cousin’s Jeep. There’s something about Cassi that makes Gage want to give her everything. Too bad Tyler has warned him that she’s strictly off-limits.

Despite everything keeping them apart, Cassi and Gage dance dangerously close to the touch they’re both been craving. But when disaster sends her running into Tyler’s arms, Cassi will have to decide whether to face the demons of her past … or to burn her chance at a future with Gage.

My Review

I’m like so many others – I wanted to love this book. After Taking Chances brought out such an emotional response, I wanted to feel that again. It just didn’t happen with this book…

The story was suppose to be heartbreaking, Cassidy’s story was sad but I just couldn’t connect or find it in me to truly care enough to bring out a strong response. I liked Cassidy as a “person” but I didn’t like her actions or choices which made it hard for me to care about her story.

I hated Tyler and what he did and how he acted, I found him to have no redeeming qualities. It made it so much harder for me care or connect with the storyline. He was intended to be the third wheel; the emotion draw, but every time he was mentioned I just wanted to turn the page.

Gage was a great male lead and quite frankly the only redeeming character in the book. He just wasn’t enough to get past the rest of the book. The lack of communication and his constant stepping aside was just irritating. Too bad because I really wanted to like this, so much so that I kept trying to talk myself into liking it but never being able to really convince myself enough.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2014 by in Books, Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
