The Girl Who Tried Everything

and then blogged about it…

Very Good Girls (2014)

Very_Good_Girls

Movie Description (from IMDb)

Two New York City girls make a pact to lose their virginity during their first summer out of high school. When they both fall for the same street artist, the friends find their connection tested for the first time.

My Review

I didn’t think this was going to be much; having such low expectations helped because I actually ended up like this movie quite a bit.  If you are looking of an award winning movie that you will carry with you the rest of you life this isn’t it.  This fit a very specific mold – its a coming of age movie about two 17 year old girls on the the verge of starting college.  They are looking for love (sex) right before they move on to their next stage in life, but this was so much more than that.

The girls in this movie explore what family means.  I found the contrast of how each perceived their own vs how they saw each others very interesting.  I had those similar feelings as a girl so  I could connect on many levels.  The photography angle was plus seeing as that it what I do and how I spent my youth.  The boy was hot (always a plus), and I thought the girl put on a solid performance.  The music was wonderful.

Both girls had to learn to handle both their mistakes and other peoples mistakes.  Some people might not like the twist of this movie, but I liked it.  I know that not every girls has broken girl code when it comes to boys, but I don’t know any that haven’t had thoughts in that regard.  When your young hormones can help assist in bad decision making almost as much as alcohol.  I know I have made this mistake with my best friend, thankful we were able to over come it but this movie reminded me of that crazy time of my youth.

What I like most is that everything seemed so real, it was a throw back to my youth.  It wasn’t over dramatized.  Unrealistic things didn’t happen.  Everything just was.  Which made it kind of beautiful.  The movie hasn’t gotten the best review, but I don’t care.  It isn’t for everyone; it’s really only for girls that are looking to spend a couple hours remembering what it felt like to come of age.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2014 by in Entertainment, Movies and tagged , , , , , .
