The Girl Who Tried Everything

and then blogged about it…

Better when He’s Bad (Welcome to the Point #1) – Jay Crownover

20557510

Book Description (from Goodreads)

Welcome to the Point

There’s a difference between a bad boy and a boy who’s bad . . . meet Shane Baxter.

Sexy, dark, and dangerous, Bax isn’t just from the wrong side of the tracks, he is the wrong side of the tracks. A criminal, a thug, and a brawler, he’s the master of bad choices, until one such choice landed him in prison for five years. Now Bax is out and looking for answers, and he doesn’t care what he has to do or who he has to hurt to get them. But there’s a new player in the game, and she’s much too innocent, much too soft…and standing directly in his way.

Dovie Pryce knows all about living a hard life and the tough choices that come with it. She’s always tried to be good, tried to help others, and tried not to let the darkness pull her down. But the streets are fighting back, things have gone from bad to worse, and the only person who can help her is the scariest, sexiest, most complicated ex-con The Point has ever produced.

Bax terrifies her, but it doesn’t take Dovie long to realize that some boys are just better when they’re bad.

My Review

“Whoever said crime doesn’t pay is an idiot. It pays great, which is why there is so much of it.”

I almost couldn’t read this because of the crappy cover. I did because I know form past experiences that Crownover writes a good story but her covers make me cringe every time. Whoever keeps picking them need to be fired stat.

“I don’t know how love works, Dovie. I don’t know how to be anything other than this, but I know the only thing that gives me hope is the idea of you and me. I know I’m not the ideal, not the dream guy, but no one will ever fight for you the way I will. I promise you that you will always have the best parts of me I have to give.”

Now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, the story was really quite good. Not that I expected anything less, no one knows how to write a bad boy like Crownover. Bax is hot and there are almost no soft edges to him. I needed that in a bad boy, I’m so sick of these books writing about bad boys that in actually are sweet and nice. Maybe some women have the need to be the “one to change him”, but I don’t have that urge. Don’t get me wrong I do expect some taming, but a broken bad boy isn’t sexy to me. It’s the boy that can’t be broken that does it for me, and Dax definitely is that boy.

“You don’t need anyone to show you how to be good, you’re so much better when you’re bad.”

I really enjoyed the leading lady; Dovie was the perfect mix between sweet and jaded, plus i’m total sucker for a redhead. One thing did bother me she shouldn’t have been as innocent as she was considering was she had been through, but for the most part she was well written.

The plot was action packed, I had a hard time putting this book down at nights. I especially loved the scene where the boys beat each other up and then were bonded for life. It made me smile my best friend and I got into a fist fight in 7th grade and we have been close since, sometimes fist speak louder than words. I did get a little irritated with the lack of communication and the missing brother thing for so long was stupid, but it didn’t ruin the book for me.

“When a guy like that kisses you, it doesn’t matter if you’re important or special. All that matters is that it’s you he’s kissing, and man, was he kissing the shit out of you.”

Can’t wait for the next book in the series.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2014 by in Books, Entertainment and tagged , , , , , .
