The Girl Who Tried Everything

and then blogged about it…

Song of the Fireflies – J.A. Redmerski

Song of the Fireflies

Book Description (from Goodreads)

“I loved every last word! Beautiful, heartfelt, consuming–I couldn’t put it down. There’s pure magic in J. A. Redmerski’s pen.” — KATY EVANS, New York Times bestselling author of the REAL series

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Edge of Never and The Edge of Always

THE TRUTH WILL SET THEM FREE

Brayelle Bates has always been a force of nature. Even as a child, Bray’s wild and carefree spirit intimidated everyone around her. The only person who’s ever truly understood her is her best friend, Elias Kline. Though every fiber of her being wants to stay with Elias forever, Bray can’t bear the thought of him discovering her agonizing history. She’s done everything she can to keep him at arm’s length, including moving away. But their undying bond was too strong a pull to deny, and Bray couldn’t survive without him. Now she’s back home with Elias, and things have never felt more right–until one night changes everything.

Elias vowed never to be separated from Bray again. So when she decides to flee in a desperate attempt to escape her fate, Elias knows he must go with her. As the two try to make the most of their circumstance, taking up with a reckless group of new friends, Elias soon realizes there’s a darkness driving Bray he can’t ignore. Now in order to save her, he’ll have to convince Bray to accept the consequences of their reality–even if it means losing her.

My Review

“Pathetic, I know, but love isn’t always roses and rainbows and butterflies in your stomach. It’s equally cruel and painful and the world’s worst villain.”

This was one of the best book I read this year. It took me a while to review this as it was hard to put my feeling into to words but I will try to do my best now. There are few books that stick with you; most books I’ve read I’ve forgotten before I’ve even finished reading the next book. This wasn’t one of those books, even now two months later and many books later I still remember this book like I read it yesterday. J.A. Redmerski just writes that good of a book.

Song of the Fireflies
The is the love story of Brayelle and Elias – it’s twisted and gut wrenching and impossible not to not love. This story starts when the couple is young and spans time. Brayelle is broken; her family believes it and it’s all she’s even know about herself. Elias has only ever known one thing that he loves Brayelle with a passion that boarders on obsession; he loved her so much that he was willing to be her best friend if that was all she was willing to give him.

“Seventeen years I’ve known you, Bray. Seventeen years. I have loved everything about you. Your foul mouth. Your crazy-ass, brazen antics. Your fearless attitude. Your highs, your lows, whatever they were, I only saw a girl with a vivid personality. A girl who sometimes did give me whiplash, I won’t lie, but I liked that about you. You kept me on my toes. You challenged me. Don’t you understand? I went out of my way to be around you because of the way you were. And if you were ever going to scare me away or make me think badly of you, would I have made you the center of my world for seventeen years?”

That is until one night when he decided enough is enough. He was going all in; drawing a line in the sand; give them a chance or be nothing, and Brayelle has to admit what she’s always fought against she loves Elias just as he has loved her, but she only wanted to protect him for her. This is where the real story starts. Just when they are learning to be them something horrible happens and they go on the run.
Song of the Fireflies
Brayelle is always hiding her past and Elias only wants to protect her, he would sacrifice anything for her. This book is actions packed keeping you on the edge of your seat while trying to figure out what will happen next and how this train wreck will end. I simply loved it. It’s dark and twisted and so much different than all the other light fluffy romance books that i’ve read.

I just stared into her wild eyes, seemingly unfazed by her outburst. I needed to keep my cool, because one of us needed to be calm and it clearly wasn’t going to be her.

Song of the Fireflies

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2015 by in Books, Entertainment and tagged , , , , .
